Timeline

Our history

Established in 1945 as the Teachers' Refresher Course Committee (T.R.C.C.), Teacher Development Aotearoa continues to uphold the vision for responsive and inclusive education outlined by our founder Dr. Clarence Beeby.

"Every person, whatever the level of his academic ability, whether he be rich or poor, whether he live in town or country, has the right, as a citizen, to a free education of a kind for which he is best suited and to the fullest extent of his powers"

(Dr. Clarence Beeby, 1938)
in the year

1945

The Teachers' Refresher Course Committee (T.R.C.C.) is founded by Dr. Clarence Beeby, Director of Education, as a government-professional partnership to enable teachers to have a voice in their own learning and to ensure opportunities for professional development 'for teachers, by teachers'.

IN THE YEAR

1960

Hotel Titirangi, Auckland is renamed Lopdell House after Frank Lopdell, former Superintendent of Education and the first Chairperson of T.R.C.C. For 22 years it runs residential teacher training every week of the year.

IN THE YEAR

1989

Amidst educational restructuring, T.R.C.C. becomes an incorporated society and later a stand alone organisation on contract to the Ministry of Education. It aims for continuation and access to national refresher courses for all teachers.

IN THE YEAR

1995

T.R.C.C. celebrates its 50th Anniversary, with Dr. Clarence Beeby as a guest of honour to cut the cake.

IN THE YEAR

2016

T.R.C.C. celebrates 70 years of supporting unique PLD courses 'for teachers, by teachers' during a year of Ministry of Education redesign of the PLD system.

IN THE YEAR

2018

T.R.C.C. successfully tenders to coordinate the Networks of Expertise (NEX) after the Ministry of Education pilots the NEX project in 2017.

IN THE YEAR

2021

T.R.C.C. is contracted by the Ministry of Education to support the NEX in a new role as the Network Hub.

To better reflect the work and values of the organisation T.R.C.C. rebrands to Teacher Development Aotearoa.